E-treat and retreat

It was a bright sunny morning. I received an e-mail from my sister inviting me to her housewarming ceremony in California, US, that day itself. Well, I live in Belgium and how could have travelled that far in a few hours?! Welcome to the world of technology! She’d arranged for an e-housewarming. She’d e-invited her close family members to this auspicious event. She’d opted for services of an e-vendor who streamed the event for the select invitees. The buying and setting up of the dream home happened at a hectic pace thanks to the fact that she and her hubby are a working couple. Their way of saying “we care for our families and their wishes” was through live streaming of the event.

It was 2 pm local time. Plop! At the click of a mouse, I expected to witness the entire event, but that was not to be. The Internet cooperated for a couple of minutes only and then the connection disappeared into thin air. Jinxed that I was, I did all that I could to restore the connection, but in vain. Finally I set out on a mission to somehow get a glimpse of the e-event. It was a telephone company right opposite our home that I first went to. They didn’t have any browsing plans to meet my urgent requirement. I then went to a university where I had engaged a few lectures in the recent past. I met a kind-hearted soul who connected me to the Internet using his login credentials. I thanked him, breathed a sigh of relief and began witnessing the live proceedings. It was a neat ceremony over there with a priest performing the rituals. Sister and her hubby (draped in traditional Indian attires) were seen in their pious moods.

All the while I was excited to partake of a family event, physical distance notwithstanding. It also left me on a path of retreat as I began to think how dependent we are on technology -based communication with our dear ones, especially when we live in different parts of the globe. Its very presence has shrunk the world into a global village. Technology enables or disables connections, forms or breaks relationships. Boy, such is its overwhelming power! Still photographs could have summed up the event, but the live streaming (albeit with a few glitches) was like a perfect visual treat. Well, in this era, it’s all about how one taps into the potential of technology and makes best use of it.

 

4 thoughts on “E-treat and retreat

  1. Nicely written.Your determination to witness the event through an unique arrangement, against all odds, is to be appreciated.

  2. Nicely written!! And thanks for attending. Your virtual presence made me very happy. True, E-world is making the world shrink 🙂

Leave a Reply

